I’ve been a busy bee, but…

So I’ve been a busy bee behind the scenes this last week, but unfortunately not allot of it is worth showing you! So a quick overview:

  1. Learnt how to use classes in C++ and Java (forgive my poor programming heritage)
  2. Updated the Trampoline Bounce Counter Part 2
  3. Got a part time job at the sports center I used to work at (I was just getting too bored sat at home all day – but this does mean there will be a decrease in the amount of project stuff I will get up to)
  4. Blew up my 3D printer (turns out the power supply provided with the original reprap Prusa Mendel kit was not designed for the use of a dual extruder and heated bed – went over the constant current limit of the power supply, £18 for a new 30A one however so it is not the end of the world)
  5. Wrote processing code for identifying any ‘nodes’ (ESP8266 modules specifically) set up on a specific port and using a call response method to determine if they are the ones I might be looking for. And if they are storing the respective IP address for later use.
  6. Designed the first version of my home security system GUI in Processing. This nicely led on from learning Classes in Java and when my set of 5 NodeMCU (ESP8266 breakouts) arrive I will proceed to develop this system by incorporating achievement 5 above into it.

Home Security System V1

I apologise that this was not a particularly interesting update; but then again I am not the most interesting person in the world :P. Keep an eye out because I will be updating the trampoline bounce counter allot more now that I once again have access to trampolines! Also as soon as the hardware arrives I will put some serious effort into getting it up and running ASAP!

As always any ideas for improvement or code you want just comment and let me know!

Dave,

xx

Leave a Reply

